Running Like a Nerd

I’m a nerd and I’m (trying to be) a runner. So it’s really no surprise that I’m combining the two. Fitness technology is a big money-maker for consumer product and services companies and the current crop of devices and web-services make adding a technological twist to exercise a lot easier than it was just a few short years ago.

Here are some of the tools I use to plan, track and motivate myself into being a healthier me.

First and foremost is my iPhone 4. I use it to track my food, exercise and just about everything else in my life. Without it, I’d have to manually map routes and use a stop-watch to time runs. Which means I’d probably not do anything.

I use Strava, Daily Mile and Runkeeper to track running. At the moment, I’m using the Runkeeper iOS app and exporting the .gpx files to Strava and Daily Mile. I’m not sold on any of the three services, so I’m using them all until I figure out which I like most.

I had been using the Ease into 5k and 10k apps, but have really preferred just running to run/walks.

I use MyFitnessPal to track calories and weight. Whether it’s food or exercise, it all goes in there.

I use Google Calendar to keep track of my workout for the day (I have a dedicated calendar to the half marathon training plan I use).

And, though it’s not directly fitness related, I use WordPress to help keep track and motivate myself.

I’d really like to get a Garmin fitness watch (It’s a toss-up between the Forerunner 210 and it’s much more capable younger brother the 610), but right now they’re a bit out of my price range.

What tech do you use to keep active? Am I missing a key app or gadget?

5 thoughts on “Running Like a Nerd

  1. Ooo! I’m using My Fitness Pal, Map My Run and a Polar heart rate monitor. And of course, my home workout DVDs, let’s not kid ourselves… if I have to leave the house to workout, I’m not working out. Lol!

  2. Can’t live without my Polar HRM. I’m on my 3rd on in about 7 years – it is a great tool to show you how hard you’re REALLY working, vs. how hard you’re actually working. And it tells you your calorie burn (accurate to your body), your time for the day/week, and has options for building your workouts or tracking your distance. Love!

  3. Sylvia: Thank you for the comment! How is Map My Run these days? I’ve used it previously (mostly its sister app, Map My Ride on the bicycle) and really didn’t like it. Have there been quality updates? Speaking of home DVDs…Our gym has a new system called “Fitness OnDemand”. It’s a computer system in the fitness room that has an extensive video catalog. It’s pretty awesome.

    Sarah: Thank you for the comment! I’m saving to get a Garmin FR 610 that also tracks the heart rate stuff. Which Polar watch do you have?

    • I’ve seen the On Demand videos…it kind of overwhelms me, lol! Hard to believe, right? I need structure. That’s why I’m a huge fan of home DVD workouts that provide a workout schedule. As for Map My Run…I like it. I really only use it in the summer when I’m running with the kids though. They like to see their progress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

