A New Year, A New Set of Goals

It’s going to be 2013 soon and as with most folks, I’ve got a list of goals for the coming new year.

  • Running – I’ve been running consistently for two weeks…I know it doesn’t sound like a lot, but it’s more running than I’ve done in years and it’s been pretty awesome. So, I want to keep that up. I also want to participate in a number of running events. I’m not sure how many or which events to run, but I’ve signed up for the Krispy Kreme Challenge (running and donuts!) and will be signing up for the NC Half Marathon soon (But that’s a different topic all-together!). Maybe it’ll be one event a month (excluding January…), maybe it’ll be a mileage goal for the year. I haven’t decided yet, but when I do, I’ll let you know.
  • Complete a half-marathon – I haven’t yet, but will soon, register for the NC Half Marathon in March. I’ve been running consistently for a few weeks and starting today, the half marathon training begins for real and for serious. My goal is to finish in 2 hours, 29 minutes and 59 seconds, which allows a pace of 11 minutes 27 seconds per mile. I think it’s a realistic and reasonable goal for me.
  • Practice yoga consistently – Once upon a time, I practiced yoga pretty regularly. That studio has long since closed, though and I’ve never looked for a new one. Onslow Fitness has a weekly class on Tuesday evenings and I’m going to start going.
  • Commute to work by bicycle consistently – This one is easy and hard at the same time. It’s nothing new, this bicycling to work business. But it takes a lot of time. I also need to balance my running with the bicycling, at least at first. My plan is to only run in January, then in February start riding on the two off-running days (Mondays and Fridays). After a few weeks of that, maybe riding on a couple of run days, too.

Those are my primary fitness goals. What are yours?

Leave a Reply

